Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-03-25 - 2:55 p.m.

Government Scrapbooking

I had my first great work disappointment yesterday, and cried on Richard's shoulder about it last night. Today, it doesn't seem that that great a thing, but yesterday it was.

I struggled and fought through six years of college (for a BS and an MS). I've done crappy jobs to fund this schooling (RETAIL HELL, food service hell, tutoring student athletes, secretarial work out the wazoo, culminating as a slightly glorified technician). I went through it, always thinking to myself, "this is why I'm going to school; this is why I'm going to school."

It helped me stay on track with my studies and grit my teeth and bear the unpleasantness (mostly mind-numbingness) of the job.

We have bi-weekly meetings with our supervisior, and at the last one (almost two weeks ago), I mentioned that I was running out of work to do; so he said he'd find another project to put me on.

Tuesday I mentioned to him that I only had about enough to fill 3 hours a day for the next few weeks (while I wait for a test plan to get approved). Well, every quarter they assign projects (I wasn't around last time, so that's why my assignments are a bit thin), and they're going to do it in two weeks. In the meantime, they'll find SOMEthing...

The next morning, I got to sort through a HUGE file box of pictures, pull out duplicates, categorize and sort in some sort of fashion (I was told I could "be creative" if I had to), and file into binders.

I finished the task in 4 hours, simply because when I have a task I hate, I just put my head down and DO IT, so I have to spend as little time as possible on it. Needless to say, they were shocked at how little time it took me to finish.

What can I say; I grok filing systems and spent years doing secretarial labor. But once I had that MS in my hand I didn't expect to have to do it again. It's not like we don't have secretaries!

And as I read back over it, it seems so petty. So I had to file some pictures (from 1997! pre-digital camera age). I jokingly called it "military scrapbooking" and tried to laugh about it, but it still hurt.

::sigh:: It looks like they decided on a project to put me on. It's a little strange, since I'm supposed to "learn how to be a test director" with this project . . . but I'm already a test director for another series of tests that's much further along (testing for that project will be in three weeks; testing for this new project will be in August).

One difference, though, is that for the testing I've been working on they gave me a tech support guy to do all the materials logistics; I get to do it myself on this new project (oh boy!).

Another difference is that the other project is near the end stages of a development project (we're almost to production). This 'new' (to me) project is more science (we want to find out what happens rather than we want to make a tool).