Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-04-29 - 9:35 a.m.

Why and How I Blog

Today Mistress Rhiannon pondered and explained "Why do I write?". She got it from someone else, and since I had a similar discussion with a new blogger [1] last night, I thought I'd jump on the meme.

I have two blogs: here and Livejournal. They serve very different purposes, so I'll discuss them each in turn.

Diaryland is a window into my life. My entries here are carefully controlled to show you only what I want you to know. I don't know who reads this diary (though the visitor logs are peculiar at times; I haven't been sure what to think about those), so I only show what I don't mind anyone knowing.

Trust me, if you think I'm talking out you on diaryland and I haven't already spoken to you about it; I'm not talking about you. Writing about people in journals is too much like gossiping for me to be comfortable with it. Either say it to their face or don't say it at all.

I didn't always take this approach, but I discovered that some people aren't able to handle my style of working through problems.

Which is where the livejournal comes in. That journal is friends-locked. I know EXACTLY who reads it, and I know that they are okay with how I deal with things. THAT's where I work things out, with little fear of drama or reprisals.

Livejournal has more of a community feel than diaryland, and that fits with the different purposes of my journals. Though it would be nice if diaryland supported RSS so I could just keep everything on one page....

[1] blogger: someone who blogs [2]

[2] blog: short for weblog. A lump term for diaries (diaryland), journals (livejournal), and what-have-you.