Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-05-06 - 11:18 a.m.

Bests and Worsts of Crown Tourney

Best:

It's done. I've never spent so much time sewing and had so little new stuff of my own afterwards. Glad to be done with it, though I'm sure there will be MORE marathon sewing sessions for baronial stuff (or personal stuff for the B&B) in the future. I don't mind, but I am looking forward to a break.

Friends who care about you and tell you about it. 'Nough said.

Being Lady in Waiting to a good friend of mine. It's a fun combination of 'mom,' 'friend,' and 'medieval lady.' I'm looking forward to this role.

Dun Carraig's procession. Damn, we looked good (if I can say so myself). Cuan even remarked on us, specially, later (so I heard, I wasn't present). And we got applauded!

Seeing people! Sinclair, Anne, Appollonia, and Generys. Liam and Julian looked fabulous, as usual. Plus spending time with the locals, the B&B, Kaolin, Theron, Darienn, and meeting lots of other people from Northern Atlantia. That part was a little overwhelming, though.

The tourney was good. I was glad to see Sinclair do so well. Jonathas survived several HARD closes with 'hot sticks'; something for him to be proud of.

Quiet time with my love before feast.

A good feast. Nothing spectacular, but I left pleasantly full; not something that happens often.

Introducing Dame Anne to Amalia and Jonathas. It's good to put names and faces together.

Dance! And a B&B who like to participate.

Having something to do that gives me some direction while I'm at events.

Good car conversation.

The sun stayed hidden. VERY good.

Great Pictures!

Worst:

9.5 hours in the car. Each way. UGH.

Heralds that aren't loud enough during the procession.

Confusion over who was running dance since the person scheduled had to drop it. I didn't mind, but it's not the way I like to do things.

Missing court. I was FRIED, and needed the down time. Must be sure to take my afternoon getaway this weekend. Court's one of my favorite things; I hate to miss it! (I've often said about myself that if I arrived right before court I'd still consider it a full event; Court, Feast, and Dancing are my three favorite things).

BEADING! Don't get me wrong, Amalia looked lovely, but I don't want to do that again any time soon. And trying to bead on the road up the mountain was amost enough to make me ill; I had to stop. Don't know how Amalia did it.

(This is pre-prep, but it was FOR the event, so I'm including it) I'm seriously considering looking into sewing classes. Putting the sleeves on her cotehardie was Not Easy, and it shouldn't have been that hard.

(Another pre-prep) The bias tape for the baldrics didn't arrive until last night (several days AFTER the event). I dipped into my stash and Amalia bought a couple more packs (plus the packs I bought to do the demo baldrics to get group approval). Annoying. At least we'll have them in the future. Plus there's a BUNCH that are still only partially done. We didn't need them for Crown, so they got put on the back burner.