Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-05-15 - 3:53 p.m.

This is from my locked journal, but since there was a request to put it in a shareable format, I'll putting it here. I'll write about my trip in a bit.

Got back from New England today to find a HUGE discussion going on about SCA participation, recruitment, retention, and such. Some reading links:

Siderea: So, I got my Minuscule today... about Carolingia�s activity level. Also:

Other changes noticed

Sigh

Critical mass

An interesting thing happened on the way to the Globe

cellio generalized a bit with waning SCA groups

I commented here and there, but some of my thoughts don�t really latch on to the earlier comments and some just belong here.

I found the discussion about the functioning of Carolingia�s guilds and groups fascinating, since I just attended their Dance Practice (from what I understand, this is the social dance group instead of the dance geek group). Lots of stuff was very different from how I�m used to running/participating in stuff. Not that any of it was wrong, or that our ways are better, but here are some observations.

Carolingia�s Dance Practice and my thoughts on Retention/Participation (from an outsider to the group).

First, an outline. Started with group stretching. I�ve never seen/heard of it as a precursor to dancing. Then, 4 easy bransles (of the step, step, step, kick, step, step, kick variety; nothing challenging, but I don�t remember their names either; is that information available somewhere? I noticed the dance mistress writing on the board). From there, almaines (3 I think), 15th century Italian (2 or 3), 16th century Italian (1), and ECD (3 or 4 before I left). In the middle was �story time� (read from one of the Italian dance master�s manuals; I missed the name).

All dances were run in the �we�re doing XYZ, everyone remember it?� (usually I was the one raising my hand; I think there were 4 dances I was familiar with done that night) �quick talk through and let�s go.�

I was stunned. No, stunned wasn�t even the word, it�s not strong enough. Gathering Peascods didn�t get even a talk-through. My effort to do it at Challenge this past weekend was a failure as far as dance goes (though people seemed to ENJOY it; technically it was a DISASTER).

I hope I wasn�t too annoying. I was struggling. To struggle like this at a dance practice astounds me. I hope this doesn�t sound conceited, but I am generally accounted a good dancer and am an INCREDIBLY fast learner. I�ve ended up teaching dance so much because I learn and retain fast (it�s a quirk I have; very fast muscle memory; especially when aided by music).

Let me reiterate: I�m considered a decent dancer and a FAST learner. I was struggling.

For me to go home and tell Richard that I was struggling astounded HIM. He takes much longer than me to learn dance, and I can only be GLAD he wasn�t there Wednesday (he�d have given up and gone to watch the heavy fighters; not the response I think the organizers want).

To elicit that sort of response and frustration from someone who has been dancing for YEARS (both mundanely, in a folk dance group that resembles the bransles that we started with, and in the SCA). . . . I�m not really sure what to say. It�s hard for me to reconcile what I experienced on Wednesday with trying to attract and retain new people.

(Don�t misunderstand me; I really enjoyed dance practice! I�m more often challenged on a physical (this space is too HOT to be doing this) level than a knowledge/learning level and I really, really enjoyed this challenge).

I know people from Carolingia read this journal� I don�t want this to seem like an attack. But I am stunned and wanted to share an outside viewpoint.

I don�t know that things should be changed, I�m not even recommending change. But I would recommend that you consider the level of your activities.

For instance, I almost NEVER do Italians (mostly because Richard doesn�t like them, and I�m content to let my feet rest a turn or two). The steps weren�t taught, or demonstrated. I shrugged and decided to be in the right spot at the right time; I didn�t know how to do more without slowing the group).

Some later thoughts:

I have a background of several years in flag twirling (Amalia, from PA, calls it 'silks'; I'm not sure what other names it may be called further north). I've learned how to commit stuff to musically-aided muscle memory; I use those techniques for learning and teaching dance. And I didn't see them used At All at dance on Wednesday.

I think that's why I really DON'T think it would work as a recruitement/retaining activity; it's not ABOUT teaching and remembering. Focus is placed more on doing a variety of dances. 12 or so dances were covered in a 1.5-2 hour period. I'm more used to doing a warm up dance, 3 'reminders' (walk through, and dance two or three times), and one 'new' (teach, walk through, dance three times or so).