Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-07-08 - 9:22 p.m.

A new family member

We went to the shelter and brought home a guinea pig!

I've been talking with the woman who runs a guinea pig rescue group, and she told me that a young girl turned in three guinea pigs to the shelter (for being too big?!). One was "close" to being a red and white dutch (like Richard's been wanting), so we went to look.

I've been upset and missing a "snuggle pig" since Guinea died (in September of last year). While I love Midge, she is very independent and doesn't care much for people, or other critters, or anything, really, other than being fed.

Richard is very picky about what he wants his pig to look like (and her age), so we're just having a hard time finding one.

So, we brought home Daisy with plans to go to the breeder show that's nearby in November (I think it's in PA).

She's a sweetie, but nervous about her new surroundings. I snapped a few pictures while Richard was putting the finishing touches on her cage. Sorry for the poor quality, but I didn't want to traumatize her with the flash!

http://f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/denisen56/album?.dir=/cad7

If that link doesn't work, go to

http://photos.yahoo.com/denisen56

and go to the Guinea Pigs album. There's a picture of Guinea and one of Guinea and Midge together.

We don't know how old Daisy is, but Richard is guessing three (based on her size). I'd place her a bit younger based on the way the skin around her eyes looks, but it's really hard to tell. Young-middle-age-ish, anyway.

Her claws are in desperate need of trimming, but I'm going to wait a few days until she settles in some. They're curling, but not into her feet.

Anyway, I've got to get to bed, but I wanted to share the news!