Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-07-11 - 8:09 a.m.

New Viking Garb for me!

Yesterday, Amalia came over and we did some sewing. Richard had been nagging me about only having one set of decent garb (the red dress), so I needed to make something new. He's a believer in wearing at least two different outfits for each event (one during the day and one in the evening), and if I changed into a second outfit, it was one that I hate. Bleh.

So, it's just about done. First, I took a linen/rayon blend yellow and made a simple Bocksten tunic. Then, I started with the first piece of garb I've ever done (its made from a linen/cotton blend) and cut off the top. It needed some fitting adjustments, and straps added. I also flat-felled the seams for fun. Wooo-hoo! I'm so pleased with how it turned out!

And, blue and yellow are my colors! That was an accident that I didn't discover until late last night (its just what I had). Since Vikings don't use heraldry, per se, it's neat to have it at least in my colors.

Update:New pictures:
Front
Back

Tasha pointed out that my apron is too long, and this second set of pictures REALLY shows it (especially some where the grass did weird things with the skirt, so the apron looks like it touches the ground!).

I ordered brooches from Raymond's Quiet Press (like EVERYONE suggested! ::grin::), and Serena said she's gotten stuff from him in 3 days before... hopefully it won't take an extra 2 days to get to the East Coast, but we'll see. Now I've got to clean the house! There's sewing stuff EVERYWHERE!