Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-08-06 - 12:44 p.m.

Freezing today at work

The hardest part of my job today is staying still.

You see, right now our office is an ice box. I'm not really sure why, but I've heard that the boiler for our heating system is down. But Denise, it's August, why does it matter if your heat is operating or not?

Well, if you have to ask that question, you have not learned the ways of our fabulous government. Isn't it obvious that the best way to control the environment in a building is to run both the heat and cool simultaneously? Really, you don't think so?

Evidently someone did.

Of course the problem is that I like to sleep in a cool atmosphere with lots of blankets. I've been conditioned (yes, like Pavlov did to his dogs) to respond to cold air and warm body with sleep.

Sleep at work is bad, but not as bad as it could be. Afterall, I work for the government and we get paid for attendance (so my supervisor told me).

So, being still. . . I can stay absolutely still and warm the microscopically thin layer of air next to my skin. If I don't move, then I'm reasonably warm without resorting to sleep inducing methods.

Over the course of typing this, however, my fingers have totally frozen. Perhaps I should read a book instead.