Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-10-04 - 7:32 p.m.

Whidbey Island

This is a LONG entry, so I'm going to do it in parts. In the meantime, PICTURES (I'll talk about them later). Today is part 1 of (I think) 6.

Arrival

After a day spent in airplanes and airports (apparently, when you work for the government it takes an act of Congress to fly across the US direct; it�s not equally enforced, but my department follows the guideline), I arrived at Sea-Tac about 2 pm. I made it to the Muliketo/Clinton ferry about an hour-ish later. The ferry had just left, so I parked the car and wandered out onto the pier.

And so began my entrancement with the area. I grew up in the flat coastlands of South Carolina, but spent (what I feel were the years most important in my development) my college years in the upstate of SC, the foothills of the Appalachians. I guess I�ve always assumed that you couldn�t have rocky mountains and ocean expanses in the same place, but I�ve learned differently. I spent the short (20 minutes?) trip on the deck, enjoying the view.

Friday, I had to go to the pass office (on the main base) before I could go to the Seaplane base. A coworker (who annoys me to no end) gave me directions, but they were inaccurate, and it took me an hour to find the place. By the time I got to the MU, the boat had already left.

On the other hand, when they got back I didn�t mind so much. Spending the day towing mines in 4-5 ft seas in a 7 meter rubber rib does NOT sound like a good time. Especially when you consider that the mines way several hundred pounds, and the boats get swamped.

Eh, I could have done it, but I was just as glad to have a good excuse not to.

My annoying coworker is the reason I was put on this project. It was one of his projects, but he got another job and left. I had to deal with him on Friday; he left WA that first Saturday morning, and completed his last week while I was gone. I don�t have to deal with him anymore. Hoo-rah!