Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-11-29 - 8:53 a.m.

Deer Trouble

My beautiful new truck is in the shop - I haven't even made a payment on it yet!

A week ago (Monday night), I hit a deer. She was running across Indian Head Highway in full-flight panic mode (and had already crossed the southbound lanes). I didn't see her until the last second.

Luckily, no one else was around. I had plenty of recovery space, and the truck handled the impact very well. The wheel well was compromised, though, so I had to get towed to the body shop.

The damage was $3200, and it will be at least the end of next week before I get her back (assuming that they don't find more damage when they take it apart).

Then, less than 24 hours later, I was riding to my parents' home from work with Dad (we work in the same building), and Dad came within INCHES of hitting a HUGE doe. We were on a twisty two lane road, so THAT would have been BAD.

We left that night to visit my sister in SC for the weekend, but on the drive back (between I-95 and the 301 bridge) we saw another dozen deer.

This morning the car in front of Mom on the way into work struck another deer.

OKAY, I've had enough!


Otherwise, life proceeds as usual. I'm hoping to get the curtains up this weekend, but I'm still trying to figure out exactly what I want to do. Next on the list will be to acquire end tables and lamps. I think I want a storage ottoman instead of a coffee table, but we'll see.