Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-12-05 - 10:26 a.m.

Good feeling

I promised myself a year before I became an officer... a year which will be done this month.

(Right on time, too, since I should finish my marshallate training next weekend, but being a deputy marshall isn't the same as a full marshall)

So, I didn't have any reason to go to Unevent. Instead I helped a newcomer couple get started on their garb.

The problem is that they chose late period stuff that I'm not familiar with. ::sigh:: So we're all learning.

I feel pretty good about it. It was a much more productive weekend than if I had dragged my ass down to NC.

I just worry that we won't finish before 12th Night, and/or that I'll get burned out on sewing before I can finish my garb for Phillip the Good.

But I feel good about helping them. That's what the SCA is supposed to be like, not all the politic-y stuff that goes on.


Richard and I finished up the evening by tasting a Maryland Wine: Linganore Wineceller's Mountain White. VERY good white wine; I'd highly recomend it.

Not as good as the Toad Hollow Risque that I found while visiting my sister (slightly sparkling pear and green apple), but still a good wine. I haven't been able to find the Risque up here, so if anyone has any suggestions, I'm all ears.

According to their web site, Linganore also has a bunch of fruit wines. I'll have to look for those.


The same store in Columbia, SC that had the fabulous wine also has the sugar free flavor syrups in EVERY FLAVOR IMAGINABLE. Wow. Hazelnut, Irish Cream, Almond, Coconut, every fruit, Chocolate; everything. There were about 20 different flavors.

They're great in coffee, but we also made low carb PINA COLADAS! Yum.