Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-01-18 - 12:58 p.m.

Cliques

Starting over in a new SCA group is interesting. It's different from being a newcomer, because as a newcomer you've got so much to learn that you never notice the cliques until much later. Since I've mostly found my place in the SCA; I'm looking for my place in Dun Carriag, so I'm perhaps hyper aware of the cliques.

I seem to have found my way into one of the cliques, just by virtue of Doing Stuff. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoy their company and think they are great people, but it bothers me when by being active you enter a specific clique.

I guess there aren't really enough people in the barony to have a large number of 'active' cliques. This is THE smallest barony in the kingdom, afterall. It's even smaller than the Canton of Falcon Cree (where I used to play).

I've also learned that I don't play the oblivious sort well. At the last gathering (a party, so not an official thing, but the whole barony was invited), there was some "let's pull some people aside and talk" going on, and some just out and out bitching going on. I don't Want to get involved in that sort of stuff, but my natural curiousity keeps me aware that SOMETHING is going on. I had to keep telling myself to Stop Worrying About it. Surely if it's something I need to know about, I'll get told. Right?