Research Me
Take a seat and Chat
Take a Step Back in Time
See the Future
Jump Even Further Back
Peruse my Bookmarks
Who else is watching?

Meet my neighbors in Atlantia!
All of My Neighbors
Random Neighbor
Next Door Neighbor


Vistors since 2 April 2004.

Visit our Hosts

Thoughts of the Lady in the Tower


2004-01-25 - 1:31 p.m.

Tommorrow I enter the workforce, and the "Real World." However, spending 5 and a half years in school does count for something. I'm getting $57,688/year with a $2k recruitment bonus. In two years (assuming I don't screw up and neglecting cost of living increases) I'll be getting $64k/year.

I'm taking some time to attend University (just a day trip, though), but other than that I won't do many (any?) events until we get a house and get settled in.

University is typically my favorite event. I think there is something so fabulous about an event that's geared towards everyone teaching each other a bit of what they've learned. It's a great way to find other people who are interested in "your" arts.

It's also free. When we look outside our hobby for classes and lectures on similar topics, they typically cost something, and often an arm and a leg. In the SCA you find people giving away their knowledge and advice in a community situation and it makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.

It's weird for me to not be teaching this time, but I didn't know enough about my situation to feel comfortable volunteering. I've taught "The Art of Being a Noblewoman" twice (I think), and Games within the Tables (backgammon precursor) twice. The Noblewoman class typically goes over really well.

I teach it as a lecture/discussion (about 25-30 minutes of lecture material), and we always spend a great deal of time talking about court. It seems to say a great deal about our insecurities and that there is a need for a general court class . . . but we have those and they aren't typically well attended (at least, the ones that I've been to).

Do we need an "advanced court decorum" class? Makes me wonder.

Also, we spend a lot of time at events, court is such a small part of that. I suppose we worry about it because when you get called up you're in the spotlight (which doesn't happen just around the field or most any other time at events).